Other Music Recording Co


Following the release of Mutual Benefit’s Love’s Crushing Diamond last week on Other Music Recording Co. comes the video premiere for “Advanced Falconry” off the album, created by BANGS and directed by Allie Avital Tsypin. The director describes the story of it below and The New York Times’ T Magazine discusses the video, song and more with Jordan Lee (a/k/a Mutual Benefit) here. Additionally, for a further look into the story behind Mutual Benefit, be sure to check out Pitchfork’s “Rising” feature.

 “Advanced Falconry immediately evoked a feeling of nostalgia and sentimentality, and I was looking for a playful and compelling way to illustrate that. I had just watched Thomas Vinterburg's ‘The Celebration’ and that was definitely a huge inspiration.  I wanted to take a similar cinematic narrative of a dysfunctional family and explore it in the context of a single moment.  It was an interesting challenge to try and express the same psychological complexities and nuances of a film within the limitations of the music video format.” – Allie Avital Tsypin

As previously announced, Mutual Benefit will tour North America early next year. They’ve added a week of European dates to their upcoming itinerary as well. The live band will feature Jordan (guitar, synths, vocals), his sister, Whitney Lee (vocals, synth), plus a bassist, guitarist and percussionist/vocalist.

 
MUTUAL BENEFIT TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):
Mon. Jan. 13 - Boston, MA @ Great Scott - Tickets Here
Tue. Jan. 14 - Montreal, QC @ Il Motore - Tickets Here
Wed. Jan. 15 - Toronto, ON @ Drake Underground - Tickets Here
Thu. Jan. 16 - Grand Rapids, MI @ The Bird House - Tickets Here
Fri. Jan. 17 - Chicago, IL @ Saki (4 p.m. in-store performance
Fri. Jan. 17 - Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall (Tomorrow Never Knows) - Tickets Here
Sat. Jan. 18 - Minneapolis, MN @ Turf Club - Tickets Here
Tue. Jan. 21 - Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt - Tickets Here
Wed. Jan. 22 - Seattle, WA @ Barboza - Tickets Here
Thu. Jan. 23 – Portland, OR @ Bunk Bar - Tickets Here
Sat. Jan. 25 - San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop - Tickets Here
Sun. Jan. 26 - San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar - Tickets Here
Tue. Jan. 28 - Los Angeles, CA @ Centre for the Arts - Eagle Rock - Tickets Here
Wed. Jan. 29 - Phoenix, AZ @ Rhythm Room - Tickets Here
Fri. Jan. 31 - Austin, TX @ The Mohawk - Tickets Here
Sat. Feb. 1 - Houston, TX @ Fitzgeralds (downstairs) - Tickets Here
Mon. Feb. 3 - Atlanta, GA @ The Earl - Tickets Here
Tue. Feb. 4 - Chapel Hill, NC @ Local 506 - Tickets Here
Wed. Feb. 5 - Washington, DC @ Black Cat - Tickets Here
Thu. Feb. 6 - Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle - Tickets Here
Fri. Feb. 7 - New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge - Tickets Here
Sat. Feb. 8 - Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade - Tickets Here
Wed. Feb. 25 - Berlin, DE @ Berghain Kantine - Tickets Here
Wed. Feb. 26 - Copenhagen, DK @ Vega Bar - Tickets Here
Thu. Feb. 27 - Hamburg, DE @ Turmzimmer, Übel & Gefährlich - Tickets Here
Sat. March 1 - Ultrecht, NL @ Tivoli Spiegelbar - Tickets Here
Sun. March 2 - Brussels, BE @ Botanique (Witloofbar) - Tickets Here
Mon. March 3 - Paris, FR @ Point Ephemere - Tickets Here
Tue. March 4 - London, UK @ St. John's Church Tickets Here 

Written by Gerald Hammill — December 10, 2013



Follow twitter.com/otherrecording